Chickpea salad with super greens

I would be a monster if I couldn’t eat chickpeas.  Seriously.  I love chickpeas on my salad, in a stir fry, in chana masala, roasted with Sriracha… I eat them almost every day.  I have never said no to a chickpea.

My sister got me a vegan cookbook for graduation by Angela Liddon, the woman behind the wondahful vegan blog Oh She Glows.  She had a recipe for chickpea salad on toasted bread– sort of using the concept of a chicken/tuna/egg salad.  I’m currently out of gluten-free bread, and I need more greens anyway, so I enjoyed this particular recipe on some super greeeens.  The salad itself involves mashed chick peas, celery, red pepper, onion, mustard, vegan mayo, lemon juice, salt and pepper.  I have never been a huge salad-that-involves-mayonnaise person to begin with, but this was pretty good! It certainly changed up my salad routine, and it was super satisfying.  If you like spicy food, I think I might try chopping up a hot pepper and tossing it in next time, OR putting some hot sauce on there.

But this is definitely worth a try if you are a chicken salad kind of person.  Or if you’re bored with your current lunch routine.  This is quick, easy, and healthy!

Leave a Reply

