Veggie sushi + seaweed salad

Since going gluten free a few months back, one of the foods I have missed the most is sushi.  GLORIOUS sushi with its soy sauce, spicy mayo, tempura flakes, cream cheese, avocado… I’ll stop now, but I really miss sushi.

So Hannah and I decided to make some tasty veggie sushi at home! We sliced up carrots, avocado, red peppers and zucchini, and made a nooch dipping sauce that was savory + tangy + awesome from Nutrition Stripped. The sushi is super easy to make, it’s just a little time consuming to chop all the vegetables so thinly.

20140604-220145-79305957.jpg

The seaweed salad was also really fun for me to make because seaweed salad at restaurants typically has soy sauce in it (which has wheat which has gluten ughugh WHY?), so I had to see if I could make an even better homemade version with tamari sauce.  Our homemade version mimicked the seaweed salads at restaurants, woo!  You can get shredded, dried seaweed at the grocery store.  I soaked mine for 5 minutes, squeezed all the water out, then tossed it with rice vinegar, tamari, sesame oil, a little sugar and some toasted sesame seeds.  I would probably add a titch more sugar (a little more than a teaspoon) than I did this time in order to achieve a slightly sweeter flavor to balance the vinegar and tamari.

Next time we’ll probably make spring rolls, which involves rice paper instead of nori wraps (even though seaweed has loads of health benefits!!). Let us know if you have any good vegan sushi ideas!

Leave a Reply

