Oil-free hummus

So like I’ve said before, I really really love chickpeas.  So it makes sense that I love it’s pureed counterpart, hummus.  I put it in my salads, I eat it with veggies, I put it on sandwiches, I love it with multi-grain crackers… Especially since going dairy free, the creamy texture is a real life-saver.

I’ve experimented a lot this summer with fun variations of hummus.  Flavored hummus, spicy hummus, avocado hummus, black bean hummus, white bean hummus! I try to usually make my own but sometimes I will go for the store-bought kind.  Hannah and I are OB-SESSED with roots hummus.  roots is a hummus and dip manufacturer based out of Asheville, NC.  I’ve rotated through a lot of their hummus flavors and recently tried their oil-free hummus, which is a healthier option than a lot of store-bought hummus because it lacks the high fat and calories (which means you can eat more of it, and who doesn’t like that?!).

My usual hummus contains a clove or two of garlic, one can of chickpeas, 1/4 cup of water, juice from 1/2 of a lemon, and olive oil, which I pour in depending on what kind of consistency I would like (usualllly around 1/4 cup, but sometimes more).  For my oil-free hummus, I swapped out the olive oil for tamari and white vinegar.  I used just a splash of each, then added more tamari to taste.  I couldn’t be more pleased with the results, we were both a little shocked that a hummus could taste so good without all the oil.  I can’t wait to eat this with baby carrots or on my salads this week, yumyumyum.  You can use a food processor or a good blender to get the desired results.

Fun fact: 80 million Americans have never heard of hummus.

xx

Leave a Reply

