Avocado edamame spread

I really love dips and spreads.  They’re really fun and the possibilities of combinations are endless! Plus, veggies are sort of a boring snack without an amazing dip.  I’ve made approximately 8 different types of hummus this summer alone, and that’s JUST hummus.  I’ve been wanting to make an edamame “hummus” for a while since it’s once of my favorite beans and because I’ve experimented with just about everything else.  Plus it’s delicious, salty and high in protein.  Edamame for the win!!! I improvised this recipe and it turned out really well!

Ingredients needed:

3 cups of edamame

Juice from half a lemon

1/2 tbs grape seed oil

1/4 an avocado

Salt + pepper to taste

If your edamame is frozen, put it in a small pot of water and bring it to a boil for just 3 minutes.  Drain the edamame and place it in the food processor along with the rest of the ingredients.  For a smoother texture feel free to add a bit more oil as you go, OR add more avocado.  I had this as a snack with baby carrots and it was really great.  If you like spicy food (like me) then you might like a little hot sauce in this too!

xx

Leave a Reply

