Creamy tomato basil pasta

Pre-Celiac, spaghetti with marinara used to be my absolute favorite food.  I eat it a lot less than I used to, mainly because I don’t like to eat too much gluten-free pasta, but I still love a simple red sauce with pasta.  I used recipe from the Oh She Glows cookbook that was fast and easy, and oh-so delicious.

This is essentially a vegan vodka sauce: garlic, onion, tomatoes, fresh basil, spinach, oregano, cashew cream and salt. Most of the ingredients are what I typically put into my favorite homemade marinara, just minus the smooth tomato sauce and plus the cashew cream.  And it just proves yet again that cashews are the BEST THING IN THE WORLD!!!!  The best.

xx

SN: I obviously used a gluten-free pasta (I like the quinoa variety, the rice pastas tend to get a bit gummy), but this could also be made with regular pasta!

20140615-195435-71675653.jpg

Leave a Reply

