Chunky monkey granola

 

 

My mom really liked to make banana bread when I was growing up.  It’s the perfect way to salvage nearly-rotten bananas, not to mention banana bread is quintessential in the Westervelt household for mood improvement.  I like the most banana bread, no nuts, no chocolate, just plain banana bread with butter or sometimes peanut butter (omg).  I still haven’t tried a gluten-free, vegan version of banana bread, but this granola was a crunchier, more addictive version of one of my fave childhood treats.  Seriously! I’ve made homemade granola before, but this was so. much. better!! I really like clumpy granola (like, I always preferred the oat bunches in Honey Bunches of Oats), and this was nutty and banana-y and wondrous.

We used a recipe from Minimalist Baker and only altered it a tiny bit.  Do not stir it half way through if you like clumps! Also, I did not have pecans, but I just added more walnuts and a handful of chopped almonds.  YUM!! Mashed banana in granola is a stroke of genius.

If I had more self control I would make this all the time.

SAMSUNG CSC

 

 

Leave a Reply

