Chai concentrate

I mentioned before in my dirty chai latte post that I intended to make my own chai sometime soon.  I think I found the task to be really daunting because there were so many ingredients and I’ve never made anything remotely similar before.  I finally got around to making it and it was so easy that I think I’ll be making this regularly for the rest of the summer! I love that I can customize my own chai to be sweeter or spicier or whatever else I could be in the mood for that week.

Here are the ingredients you’ll need:

8 bags of black tea

2 cinnamon sticks

2/3 cup of coconut sugar

10 cloves

3/4 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp black peppercorns

1 tsp orange zest

1 tsp lemon zest

1 tbsp vanilla extract

 

I put all of the ingredients except for the vanilla in with 5 cups of water brought it to a boil and simmered it for 20-25 minutes.  Add the vanilla at the end and strain the mixture a few times to make sure everything is smooth.  I store mine in a jar for a week or two.  You can make iced chai lattes (like we did), dirty chai lattes, or enjoy a regular chai tea! Possibilities are endless.

SAMSUNG CSC

 

xx

Leave a Reply

