Blackberry lemonade

I have had blackberries sitting in the fridge a few days now just asking to be used.  Part of me wanted to make them into a berry crisp I saw on Pinterest the other day, but I refrained for a few reasons… 1. It makes enough for 12 people and it’s just Hannah and me, 2. It looked TOO good.  So I’ll have to make it sometime when I have an excuse to.

Anyway, I love summery lemonades.  Every time I go to the Carrboro Farmers’ Market in the summer, I stop by this one bakery stall that always has the most delicious blueberry lemonade.  It’s tart and sweet, but also the prettiest color.  I figured I could make the same thing with blackberries! All you have to do to make any sort of berry lemonade is to make a simple syrup with the berries.

You need:

3/4 cup of sugar

1 cup of blackberries

1 cup of water

4-6 lemons

 

To make the berry syrup, put 1 cup of water and 3/4 cup of sugar in a sauce pan and simmer it until the sugar is fully dissolved.  After the sugar is dissolved, add the berries and let them melt into the mixture.  Once they’re hot it’s easier to mash them up with a fork.  Let the mixture simmer for 5 minutes, take it off the heat and let it cool.  I strained the mixture twice to get the blackberry pulp out.

Combine your syrup with 3/4 cup- 1 cup of fresh lemon juice and 4-5 cups of water, depending on how strong you want your lemonade.  I threw some lemon slices and blackberries in the pitcher as a nice little touch.  I used coconut sugar, but I recommend using regular cane sugar if you want your lemonade to be on the sweeter side!

Happy almost-weekend!!! xx

Leave a Reply

