rooibos tea

As I’ve probably mentioned before, I’m a huge huge coffee person.  I don’t often drink tea unless it’s chai and it’s dirty.  This tea might have changed my mind! I really need to break the habit of drinking caffeine in the afternoon, so this might be a good swap.

Rooibos tea is naturally caffeine-free and also has all sorts of health benefits.  It’s good for the skin, relieves stomach problems, improves circulation and aids a more restful sleep.  It sounds like something I should be drinking all the time! It’s super super easy too.  I used the same concept I’ve used before with making chai concentrate.

You will need:

5 bags of rooibos tea

A few slices of lemon (I like an orange slice in there too)

2 inch tumeric root (peeled and sliced thinly)

2 inch ginger root (peeled and sliced thinly)

1/3 cup coconut sugar (optional)

Put all of these ingredients in a small pot with 4 cups of water, bring to a boil and simmer for 15 minutes.  I typically don’t like sweetened tea so I omitted the coconut sugar, but I’m sure that would be tasty too if you like that added sweetness.

Leave a Reply

