Veggie Omelet

One of the harder transitions from vegetarian to vegan for me was breakfast food. I used to eat a LOT of veggie omelets for breakfast. Who knew you could make an omelet from pureed tofu! I was so excited to try this because it would be a  fun recipe to make for brunch. It didn’t disappoint. I liked the texture even better than regular omelets, and its super versatile and easy. You can throw your favorite veggies in, or whatever you have on hand!

The only problem was the omelet split at the fold (but this happens with regular omelets too) and who really cares anyways, it still tastes the fabulous. I only baked mine for about 12 minutes, but I would definitely recommend cooking until at least 15 minutes because the middle was a less firm than the edges and might not split if cooked longer. 

I basically followed the recipe from Minimalist Baker with a few changes. Below is my loose estimate of how much of my favorite veggies and how I altered the original recipe. 

Preheat oven to 375 (my variation makes 1 large omelet)

For the omelet, I combined the following in a food processor

1/2 block of firm tofu

2 tablespoons of nutritional yeast

1 tablespoon of cornstarch

1/4 teaspoon of paprika

2 tablespoons of water

1 clove of garlic (I didn’t sauté mine)

salt and pepper

Meanwhile, prepare the veggie filling:

Ingredients

1 clove garlic

1 cup of onion (about 1/2 large onion)

1/2 cup mushrooms

2 cups of chopped spinach

1/2 large sweet pepper

1 chopped jalapeño

2 tablespoons of sriracha sauce (or to taste)

salsa, tomatoes, and avocados for garnish

1. heat olive oil in a saucepan and add garlic, onion and mushrooms and cook until onions are translucent and mushrooms have released all liquid.

2. Add the pepper, jalapeño, and sriracha sauce, spinach and salt to taste. Sauté until peppers are tender.

3. In a new saucepan, generously coat in olive oil and spread tofu puree mixture. Put veggie mixture on half the tofu puree (I ended up using about 1/2 of the entire veggie stir fry I made) and cook for about 5 minutes.

This is what mine looked like after cooking for 5 minutes on the stove:

SAMSUNG CSC

4. cook in the oven at 375 for about 15 more minutes. Garnish with tomatoes, salsa, avocado, more sriracha and enjoy!

SAMSUNG CSC

 

 

2 thoughts on “Veggie Omelet

  1. Wow, this looks so good! I don’t miss eggs, but I do miss eating things in omelet form! I’ll definitely have to try this puréed tofu version, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

